Han Dong:

Han Dong's works stylizes in homochromous and elegant tones, almost flat spaces and details. The main theme of expressing what the artist thinks about life is being the use of female characters. In Han Dong's works, woman looks not so feminine but symbolic. In other words, woman has become a carrier of certain abstract meaning. In his works of the 90s, textures are slightly rough. With plain background, people tend to be stiff and their gestures are extremely simple. The picture always appears simple, unsophisticated and heavy, thus constructs his personal style. If the details of the 90s' works depend on the whole composition and lonely images caused after spreading a figure group's easy shape, the figures depart from solitude since year 2000. Although the figures haven't been concentrated on a focus, the background, people's posture, face look and tone have all changed. The classic keynote is still strictly maintained. That invariable female group seems to carry more vitality compared with that of 1990s as if they were goddess stepping into the world from easel. Suddenly endowed with a few common customs, there is no emptiness and melancholy of 1990s between women's facial features. Although it adds a layer of soft and transparent mist during this period, the whole image takes in more breath of life. In Han Dong's latest series "Bird", the tone of the painting is simpler than before and the background has nothing but a monochromatic hue. Here the women figures have been reduced from a few to only one, who maintains an extreme classical elegance. The whole piece has turned into almost purely classical. Unlike the previous works, the content barely touches contemporary; for example, "Deer and Girl"(2005). However, the four paintings are constantly repeating the same motion. The composition guides the audience eyes to the postures of girl and crane. In such repetitions, a subtle act breaks the balance of the whole painting. The posture of the girl grasping the crane is, on the one hand, very elegant but on the other hand, dissolves all the classical elegance that has been painstakingly built up. Moreover, there is no typically stylized expression in the girl's eyes, yet it flexibly conveys a certain emotion. Will the whole tranquil classic, just like the title "Fading Bird", in this fleeting post-modern society, be fading away or desperately struggling like the crane?

- Extracted from Gu Chengfeng "Let Us Dream in The Light of Day"
Translated by Fan Chen
 

 

Zhang Jijun:

Let Us Dream in The Light of Day
Gu Chengfeng
 
Just like how artists come in different types, their works have unique dispositions-some works provoke deep thought with their sheer brilliance; some reveal bright minds at work; some are teasing and entirely unserious; and then there are those which bring us to the realm of dreams. 
 
It seems that Zhang Jijun's works are of the last type. His oil paintings carry us far away from the troubles of everyday life to a different place, and yet neither is this world heaven. Here, toy-like maces and iron horses are dashing, and kites are floating elusively in the air. Boulevards are extending into the horizon, straight and hazardous; cold, solemn walls of crimson are standing erect in greeting. The wisps of clouds on the sky are comforting yet elusive; the figurines on the ground, hazy and mysterious.
 
Even those seemingly realistic brick walls evoke a surreal impression: a solitary building, dusty with age, stands compact yet forlorn in the field, its rust-colored form juxtaposed starkly against a background of cold colors. Yet just when our imagination is about to take off, the painter halts his brush, leaving us with a certain disquiet of the mind, a certain silence in the presence of that which exists and that which meets our gaze. 
 
Seeing Zhang's art is like sipping a rich cup of tea, with an initial slight bitterness lingering about the tongue, which is soon taken over by a soft fragrance. And perhaps then, our gaze will take to the window and to the far horizon in the distance.
 
Who doesn't hope for a certain transcendence?  Dreams provide us with wings, though the flight is not always without turbulence. Yet to be able to dream in the light of day is truly a blessing of a kind.
 
The American philosopher John Dewey has said: in an imperfect society-and no society will ever be perfect-fine art will be to some extent an escape from, or an adventitious decoration of, the main activities of living. 
 
Yet, perhaps escape can be relished, and daily life made rich by decoration.
 
Standing before Zhang Jijun's works, do you have dreams?

• 无一物是——韩冬、张继军油画作品展
  • 艺术家:韩冬、张继军
  • 学术主持:-
  • 开幕时间:2011.05.28 / 16:00 -18:00
  • 开展时间:2011.05.29 - 2011.09.05 / 10:00 - 18:00
  • 展览地点:一个艺术. 上海市莫干山路50号13幢2楼

韩冬评论文章:

单纯典雅的色调和近乎平面化的空间关系以及注重细节的表现一直是韩冬作品的特色。以女性人物来表达艺术家对生活的思考一直是作品中的主旋律。女性在韩冬的作品里似乎不是在于女性世界的表征,而是接近一种象征的符号。换言之,女性在韩冬的作品里已成为某种抽象含义的载体了。在他90年代的作品中,肌理被处理得略显粗糙,人物基本上接近呆板,背景简单,人物动作同样被处理得简单到极致,画面始终给人以古朴而沉重的感觉。风格化在这里已经得到了完善。如果说90年代韩冬的细节表达在于整体的构思上,以及传达了在群体人物的简单形态后造成的孤独视像,那么从2000年开始,他作品中的群体人物离开了那种孤独。尽管群体人物仍然没有被凝聚在某个焦点上,但是背景、人物姿势、表情、色调等多有所改变。古典基调仍然被严格地保持着,但那群不变的女性人物比起90年代来似乎获得了某种生气,同时也似乎是从画架上走到人间的神女,突然之间被赋予了些许的世俗,眉眼之间没有了90年代的空漠与怅然。尽管这个时期的作品多了一层柔和与透明色的迷蒙,但是整个意象都多了一层生活的气息。新近作品《鸟》系列,画面的色调处理比以往来得更单纯了,背景已经被处理成没有任何道具而只有同个色调的画面,这里群体女性已经缩减成一个女性,人物的动作保持着极致的古典与优雅,整个作品几乎说是纯粹古典了,从内容上说几乎没有像以往的那样现代感,比如《鹿与少女》(2005年)。然而,四幅作品不断地重复一个动作,画面的设置把观者引领到少女和仙鹤的姿势。在这反复的动作中,一个细微的动作打破了整个作品的平衡,少女的一只手抓住仙鹤的姿态,虽然极尽优雅,但是正因为这个动作,可以说原先苦心经营的古典与优雅都被消解了。另外,少女的眼神没有典型的风格化,却是灵动地传达了一种情绪,于是,整个静谧的古典正如标题“逝去的鸟”那样,古典在飞速的后现代社会里到底是正在消逝呢,还是如这只仙鹤那样在无力挣扎?

——摘自高名璐《意派·世纪思维》

 

张继军评论文章:

让我们白日有梦
文 / 顾丞峰

 
艺术家分不同类型,作品也有不同的指向——有些作品锋芒毕露,发人深思;有些作品机智聪慧,才情尽显;有些作品调侃放纵,一点正形也没有;也有些作品一味营造梦境,尽量远离现实。
 
张继军的作品大致属于最后一种。他的油画每每营造一种境地,远离人们日常的烦恼,但也并非仙境,那里面既有玩具兵一样的金戈铁马奔腾,有若隐若现的风筝飘荡,也有通往天际笔直而陷井般的大道,还有冰冷而沉重的红墙迎面矗立;天上的云,温暖而暧昧;地下的人,模糊而诡异。
 
连那些看似写实的一面砖墙,也令人有别样感受,一座孤零零的沾满岁月尘灰的楼,空旷坚实而冷清,古铜色的主体和冷色的背景形成强烈的对比,当人们的联想隐隐发作时,画家又戛然而止,思绪让人不着落地徘徊着,留下的只是物的存在和我们相视的无言。
 
看他的画像是品一杯浓酽的茶,开始略有苦涩,吹拂摇晃舌尖游荡之余,绕口淡香习习沁入,我们的目光也许会随着缭绕的清香,投向窗外更远处的天际。
 
凡是人,谁不希望有一种超越,梦会为我们生出一双飞翔的翅膀,尽管那飞翔的轨迹不定也许会奔突跌宕。而能够让我们白日有梦,委实是一种可遇而不可求的幸福。
 
美国的哲学家杜威说过:在一个不完美的社会中,美的艺术在某种程度上将是一种对主体生活活动的逃避,或是一种偶尔的装饰。
 
逃避可能会伴随着享受,装饰更充斥于日常
 
站在张继军的作品前,您有梦吗?