• CONTOURS OF THE EVERYDAY
  • Artist: Li Jie
  • Critic: Monica Dematté
  • Opening: 16:00 - 18:00 / 23.04.2011
  • Duration: 10:00 - 18:00 / 24.04.2011 - 27.05.2011
  • Address: ANART. 2F, Building 13, M50, Shanghai.

Li Jie is a good painter
Monica Dematté

"Li Jie is a good painter" one day told me M.H, a precious friend who is also one of my favorite painters, with whom I often have good conversations on art. We have a pause. To say that someone is a good painter today seems to be somehow diminishing. "Artist" is a more comprehensive word and has a wider meaning. And, especially, is more suitable to that large group of people who nowadays work in art without creating it with their hands. How would one define someone who does not paint, nor sculpt, nor draws or photographs, but just describes ideas and asks someone else to execute them? Depending on how successful this person is in the media and commercial world, she/he has a good chance to be considered a great artist, mainly because, in my opinion, those who have the power to judge have, in their turn, long lost the ability and the sensibility to appreciate the 'non-conceptual' aspect of an artwork. But this aspect, I strongly believe, is still a very important aspect of making, appreciating and 'feeling' art.

"People here in Beijing told me I am too traditional, they told me that this kind of work won't go, because it is not contemporary". I listen to Li Jie's words in astonishment. I can't believe these kind of categories are still there, in people's mind, in today's China. I say 'still' because I know that, when the so-called contemporary art started to gain attention, everybody was afraid of not being contemporary enough.

Does it make sense? I ask myself. To me, not at all. To be contemporary is not a task; moreover, I don't agree that being contemporary means to be good. It might mean to be 'trendy', but trends pass fast, and I believe artists and their artworks would like to last. Why not wondering about the 'poetic', 'creative', 'unique', 'true', 'authentic' and, why not, even 'skilful' quality of an artwork, instead? Don't these qualities tell more, and more in depth, about an artwork than the definition of 'contemporary'? I think so.

I am not a trendy person, I have never been, and I am not keen on trendy people either. To be trendy is easy for anybody who is intelligent and clever. To achieve depth and to be true to oneself, to have something relevant to express is much more difficult. One has to see things clearly and to work hard to express them in the most suitable way, according to one's ability. One has to face loneliness, and the suspicion, skepticism, stupidity of the world around. One has to insist despite hardship, if one really feels the need to express her/himself. China is now very 'trendy' in the contemporary international art market, and for this very reason it is now more difficult to be oneself in China, as an artist, than it was in the past or, I believe and hope, than it will be in the future. Hopefully, trends will let place to something more durable and more meaningful.

Li Jie paints
Li Jie paints. She spends most of her time painting. I guess she enjoys it, she finds it meaningful. That's why she devotes her life to it. I have not seen the works she has produced before the current series, I imagine she has studied painting and, most likely, Chinese painting, because she masters the brush and the ink well.

When I first saw her works she was still in Luoyang, where she grew up and worked. Her paintings are difficult to photograph, the strokes are so subtle and the ink so pale that only the real works fully reveal their silent, non-spectacular flow.

It has been widely considered to be 'proper' for women painters, both in the East and in the West, to choose flowers and plants as a subject. A 'minor', intimate, domestic theme, suitable for the 'feminine' character. I have often found those vases of flowers painted by amateur female artists boring, obsolete, merely decorative. I might have been wrong in some cases, but I am still convinced about the majority. Li Jie has found inspiration in the vegetal world as well, but her plants are edible. Being a good cook, she must have been captured by the infinite variety of vegetables one can buy in the market, and have had the curiosity to translate them from a three-dimensional, colorful though short lifetime, to an immortal sphere made of grey strokes on a white background. I imagine her on the kitchen table, eyeing the eggplants and the beans she has bought for lunch, suddenly driven away by a need more urgent than appetite, taking out paper and brush, and starting to trace fine line after fine line, fascinated by the subtle elegance of each, lost in pleasure and excitement.

Like in Jesus's famous miracle of the "multiplication of breads and fishes", Li Jie's vegetables proliferate; the original one or two samples are drawn from every viewpoint and juxtaposed as if there were dozens of them. There is an endless abundance of each variety of vegetable, as if, through painting, she could provide enough food for her whole life, or if she was drawing the illustrations for a book of domestic botany.

Reading the titles of her early works I have the chance to review my Chinese lexicon. Pumpkins, carrots, radishes, bitter gourds, eggplants....a whole world is there. At first she keeps varieties separated, and collocates the subjects in the center of the painting, leaving a great deal of empty space around. Dimensions are quite small (45cm x 50cm), and the 'essence' of each vegetable is drawn with smoothness.
   
Later on Li Jie starts, I imagine, wondering how she can render these vegetables more 'cool', how she can add a conceptual value to them. By then she has decided she wants to spend time on this idea, and moves to Beijing.

Objects' carrousel
The original spontaneity must become something more complex, now that those works become the 'real thing', no longer a hymn to horticulture or to pure fun. Sizes expand, a rich variety of gorgeous vegetables are juxtaposed in the same long scroll (up to four meters). Less empty space is left, dozens of vegetables are either placed orderly side by side or amassed together, although they are spread out in a bi-dimensional space that never tends to attain the third dimension.

At one point Li Jie either must have got bored with the vegetables, or maybe she needed to do some restoration work in her new living space and had to purchase a certain quantity of screws and nails. Whatever the reason might be, she started to draw these objects. The result is very different from the previous: whereas vegetables possess organic forms, each one being very unique, having peculiar textures and rounded lines, men made objects are mainly characterized by straight lines, perfectly geometric forms, and uniformity of appearance. I am quite sure Li Jie has perceived these fundamental differences right away: screws, nails, wires... are amassed in a crowded space that leaves no breath. Here one does not think of the painter's enjoyment, confronted with a colorful amount of beans and tubers; rather, one imagines the drawing process as more similar to an automatism, and this difference resembles the one existing between the work of a peasant, who changes task many times a day, and a factory worker at the assembly line, repeating endlessly the same movement. These amasses of screws, of nails, of bicycle chains, make us think - feel - sense - the obsessive rhythm of working in a factory - be it Luoyang's "First tractor's factory' (where Li Jie was employed in early days) or any other.

The viewer is taken prisoner by a suffocating amass of things, to the point that she/he feels like being swallowed by them. Differently from traditional Chinese painting, where it is the viewer's imagination that makes her/him enter the painting creatively so to 'fill the voids', here we sink in an abyss without space for breath and thought. It is true that both the vegetables and those nails - buttons - screws - wires are part of everyday life. But they allude to very different lifestyles. My personal taste - not contemporary and not trendy, I know - goes for the 'organic' world. The reason is not only ethic but very painterly too: I feel that Chinese brush and ink perform at their best when they trace lines variable in thickness, when they can be used to their greater possibility, that is to portray 'life'.

There are scrolls (this oblong size has become lately the artist's favorite) that contain a great variety of those objects that end up filling everyone's house, necessary or superfluous, disregarding their formal beauty, elegance, quality. We see bottles, slippers, note blocks, brushes, clips... and the feeling is to have been dipped into the very heart of a dumping ground. All of a sudden we are faced with the squalid sloppiness of the objects that populate our houses and engage our eyes daily.

Other paintings' subjects are inspired by more specific items, for instance  electronic-related, such as mobile phones, calculators, computer components. They make me think of the photos taken by some Chinese artists few years ago, although these works obviously go through a very different and more subjective process, the one of translating a sea of solid, concrete objects into fine grey lines that intersect one into the other.

A world of lines
I have been sent the most recent works, those that will be shown in the forthcoming exhibition in Shanghai. I have to sharpen my eyes and twist my neck to examine them in the computer - unfortunately I won't be able to see the original pieces before writing about them. There is one of an impressive size, 80cmX350 cm, entitled 'threads', and  'lines', as in Chinese these two are expressed by the same word, 'xian线'. When specifically referring to drawing, though,  'xian' may become 'xiantiao线条'.

I feel that here Li Jie has regained a more natural and comfortable painting pleasure, as she has looked for any kind of thread or wire she could find in the market, and has then enjoyed the process of adapting her brush to all those different textures. Besides that, the fact that every single line is curved enables the brush, skillfully handled, to fully display its rich expressive possibility. This looks like a jungle, rather than like a rubbish bin: inorganic, 'dead' objects like threads and wires become alive thanks to the supple work of hand and wrist. I much prefer those works where the painterly skills are fully exercised, rather than those where repetitive and stiff items fill every corner to suffocation.

Li Jie has recently created different visual forms, such as one painting (60cm x 130 cm) where she has disseminated buttons along a line in an irregular shape that leaves much emptiness around. It is a rather successful way to combine imagination and automatism.

The 'sofa' and 'quilt' subjects, as far as I can see from the reproductions, do not take much advantage from the traditional Chinese technique of rendering clothes and materials with simple yet forceful brushstrokes. The quilt's wavy surface resembles  mountains finely sketched out of a myriad of fine lines; the more complex the composition, the more effective the visual result.

As a suggestion to the painter, I wish she can chose to pick up the brush in moments when she does it with authentic joy and pleasure, being rapt in the process of following and reproducing the unpredictable fluidity of lines and silhouettes. That lively feeling will then be conveyed through the painting to the eye and soul of the viewer. No need to find an artificial, conceptual justification to this enjoyment.

Vigolo Vattaro, February 12th, 2011

• 日子的轮廓
  • 艺术家:李 洁
  • 学术主持:莫妮卡·德玛黛
  • 开幕时间:2011.04.23 / 16:00 -18:00
  • 开展时间:2011.04.24 - 2011.05.27 / 10:00 - 18:00
  • 展览地点:一个艺术. 上海市莫干山路50号13幢2楼

李洁是个好画家
文 / 莫妮卡·德玛黛

M.H.曾跟我说:“李洁是个好画家。”M.H.是我的挚友,同时也是我最喜欢的画家之一,我们俩常在一起神聊艺术。如今似乎不大会夸别人是好画家。“艺术家”则是一个更宽泛的词,包含更多意思。这个词尤其适合那些现今混迹于艺术圈,但只动口不动手的人。如何称呼一个不画油画、不做雕塑、不画素描、不拍照片,只描述想法,找别人去实现的人呢?要是她/他在媒体和商业领域中有所成就,那她/他很有可能会被认为是一个大艺术家,我觉得这主要是因为,那些掌握判别权力的人,早已失掉了欣赏一件艺术品的“非观念”构成因素的敏感和能力。但恰恰是这一方面,我坚信仍然是制作、欣赏和“感受”艺术的非常重要的一方面。

 “北京这儿的人说我太传统,这类作品走不了多远,因为它不当代。”李洁的话,让我震惊。我无法相信,在人们的头脑里、在今天的中国,还依然存在如此这般的分类。用“依然”,是因为我知道,所谓的当代艺术一旦开始吸引眼球,人们都唯恐自己不够当代。

可这有意义吗?我自问。对我来说,完全没有。追求当代不是一种任务,而且我也不认同当代就意味着好。它也许意味着“潮”,但是潮流瞬息万变。我认为艺术家及其作品应能经久不衰。为何不转而关注作品的“诗意”、“创造性”、“独特性”、“率真性”、“审美性”,甚至是“技巧性”呢?比起“当代性”的定义,这些品质岂不是能更广地,也更深地体现艺术品的价值?这一点我坚信不疑。

我不赶时髦,从来就不,同样对赶时髦的人也不感兴趣。对任何智慧聪明的人来说,赶时髦不难,难的是有内涵,对自己真诚和找到适当的手法来表达思想。一个人必须竭其所能,去透彻地观察事物,并且努力用恰当的方式去表达。必须面对孤独,还有周遭世界里的怀疑、猜忌、愚蠢。要是她/他真切地感到要自我表达,就必须迎难而上,坚持不懈。如今在当代国际艺术市场上,中国很“潮”,这也正是中国艺术家更难坚持自我的原因,我相信且希望,这比以往也比以后都难。谨期盼,潮流能让位于那些更持久,更有意义的作品。

李洁画画
李洁画画。她大部分时间都在作画。我想她是乐于此道,觉得有意义。这正是她投身艺术的原因所在。我还未见过她以前的作品,不过我猜她学过绘画,尤其是中国画,因为她对笔墨运用自如。

我初见她的作品时,她还在洛阳,在那儿长大、工作。她的画很难拍摄下来,笔触精细、墨迹恬淡,只有作品本身才能完全体现那种安静与波澜不惊的涌动。

无论在东方还是西方,普遍认为女画家选择花朵和植物作为对象是很“正常”的。这种“无关紧要的”、私人的、居家的主题,很适合“女性”气质。我总觉得,那些业余女艺人画的花瓶无趣、过时、装饰。偶尔可能我会判断有误,但基本十拿九稳。李洁也是在花草世界找到的灵感,但她的植物是可以吃的。身为厨艺高手,菜市场里丰富无穷的蔬菜肯定把她吸引住了,她也定是有那种强烈的好奇心,要把它们从短暂却多彩的三维世界,转化到另一个淡墨白纸的永恒境界。我想象她在厨房,注视着桌上买来做午饭的茄子、豆角,突然被一种比食欲更急迫的想法驱使,拿出纸笔,开始一笔一笔地精描细摹,在优雅的线条中沉迷,在喜悦与兴奋中忘我。

就像是耶稣那个有名的“面包和鱼”之奇迹,李洁的蔬菜是增殖的;把最初的一两个样本,从不同的视角去画,然后并置在一起,积少成多。每种蔬菜都无限充足,就像是通过绘画,她能为自己的一生储备足够的食物,也像是她为一本居家植物书所画的插图。

看着她早期作品的标题,我得以复习我的中文词汇,南瓜、胡萝卜、萝卜、苦瓜、茄子… …应有尽有。起先,她每次只画一种蔬菜,集中放在画中央,周围全部留白。作品的规格不大(45cm x 50cm),其“本质”在于每棵菜都画得光滑细润。

之后,我猜李洁就开始想办法,让这些菜变得更“酷”,为它们赋予一些观念价值。当时她想在这个环节上下些功夫,并搬到了北京。

物品传送带
既然那些绘画已经变成“货真价实”的作品,而不再是瓜园菜地或性情所至的赞美诗,最初的触景生情必定变成一种更加庞杂的集合体。作品尺寸扩大了,许许多多不同种类的鲜丽蔬菜罗列在长卷上(最长达四米)。留白空间小了,蔬菜们要么整齐地并排而立,要么堆积在一起,它们铺陈在一个二维空间里,毫无进入三维的态势。

一度,李洁可能不是厌倦了蔬菜,就是因为她要装修新的住所,需要买不少螺丝和钉子。无论出于何种理由,她开始画这些东西。结果却和之前大不相同:蔬菜呈现的是有机形态,每一个都是唯一的,有独特的肌理和浑圆的线条;相反,人造物大多是直线条,它们具有完美的几何形态和整齐划一的外表。我确信,李洁是在第一时间就察觉到了这些根本差别:螺丝、钉子、电线……它们全都挤在一起,不留一丝喘息的空间。这时,人们无法联想到画家面对五颜六色的豆角和薯类时的那种愉悦;反而更容易将这种作画过程联系到机械动作,这种区别,近似于农民和工人的不同,农民每天换着干好几种活儿,而工人则在流水线上无止境地重复同一个动作。这一大堆螺丝、钉子、自行车链,让人想起——觉得——感受到工厂里那种强迫性的工作节奏,如不是在洛阳的“第一拖拉机厂”(李洁曾在那儿工作)就是在其他工厂。

观者被囚禁在这堆令人窒息的东西里,直到最后感到自己被它们吞噬。不同于传统的中国绘画,观者释放想象,身临其境,见仁见智,填补空白;这里,我们却如临深渊,处于锁闭的空间无法呼吸和思考。蔬菜和那些钉子——纽扣——螺丝——电线确实同是日常生活的一部分,但它们却暗示截然不同的生活方式。我个人的口味——既不当代也不潮流——是趋向“有机”世界的。其中的原因,不仅是道德层面的,也是绘画层面的:我觉得,中国的笔墨在勾勒各种粗细线条的时候,在发挥它们最大可能性的时候,即描绘 “生活”的时候,表现得最完美。

长卷(这种长方形近来成为艺术家的最爱)囊括了充斥人们房间的各种必需或多余的零碎,尽管它们有着规规矩矩的美丽、优雅和品质。看着这些瓶子、拖鞋、便条纸、刷子、回形针…总觉得要一头载入垃圾场中,突然面对无数肮脏凌乱的物体,它们充斥我们的房间,充塞我们的眼球。

另外一些画的主题来自更加具体的物体,比如电子类的手机、计算器、电脑元件。它们让我想起几年前一些中国艺术家拍的照片,尽管这些作品显然经历了一个极为不同的、更为主观的过程,将大片的坚固实在物体演绎成细腻的灰色线条。

线的世界
我已经收到她最近的作品,不久之后它们将于上海展出。不幸的是,在评述它们之前,我还无法看到原作,只能擦亮双眼,抻着脖子,在电脑屏幕上仔细打量。有一张名为“线”的作品,规格特别,80cmX350cm。

这里,我感觉李洁重新恢复了那种更自然、舒心的绘画乐趣,她在集市里搜寻各种线,并且享受用画笔勾勒各种不同纹理的过程。此外,每一根线的弧度都充分展示了其运笔技巧,以及画笔的丰富表现性。多亏了这副手腕的灵巧,使得像线一样无机的死物,看上去与其说像个垃圾筒,不如说像是一片勃勃生机的雨林。相较于那些重复而呆板的物件塞满每个角落的作品,我更喜欢这些能够充分显示绘画技巧的作品。

最近李洁又创造了一些新的视觉形式,比如在一张60cm x 130cm的画里,她将纽扣串在一条形状不规则的线上,周围留有大片空白。这是一种将想象力与偶发性相结合的好办法。

“沙发”和“被子”的作品,就电子版来看,并没有充分沿用中国传统技巧的优势,用简单而有力的笔触去渲染布或材料。被子起伏的表面如同连绵群山,由无数细线支撑起来;画面越复杂,视觉效果越显著。

我有一条建议,愿她仅在真正身心愉悦之时拿起画笔,全神贯注地去捕捉、记录那飘忽不定又娓娓道来的线条和轮廓,那种活生生的感觉将会通过她的作品传递到观者的眼里、心里。这种愉悦不需要人为的、观念的价值判断。

2011年2月12日
于意大利Vigolo Vattaro