works

Wang Tong: “Reenactment” for Being Present
by Hai Jie
 
 
Wang Tong was born in 1967 during the Cultural Revolution. He was raised in the Mao era when the Chairman’s image was painted on many walls. This childhood memory had an impact on his art creation. In the 1990s, he began to shoot his “Mao on the Wall” series which documented the images of Chairman Mao that were stenciled on the walls in peasant villages all over China as reminders of a bygone era. This project came to a halt in 2000 because demolitions were everywhere. In that year, he started to chart the ferocious urbanization in China in a more candid photographic language with his “Forging Cities” series, more of a bare-knuckle approach to the issue in question compared with his “Mao on the Wall”. Then he broke away from the restraints of the documentary tone and experimented with role play and posed photos. He attempts to be “present”, just as Mao steps out from “on the wall” into reality in his “Reenactment” series. This time the Chairman is played by Wang Tong.
 
It certainly helps that Wang Tong does somehow resemble Mao in appearance. For easier identification, he selected as prototypes old photos and oil paintings familiar to the public eye such as Mao at Beidaihe Beach, in Yan’an, on the way to Anyuan, in a Henan village, in the Yangtze River, etc. He replaces the original settings in which propagandists deify political leaders with the presentday context such as on a construction site, before a government building that passes as the White House, before a grand theatre, before an aircraft carrier and beside a river. These are typical backdrops for images glamorizing political figures. In addition, Wang Tong deliberately chose settings like Orange Isle with reference to Mao’s poetry. In one photo, he dressed up as Mao and stands up high looking out to a railroad viaduct, apparently a reminder of Mao’s famous verse “A bridge will fly to span the north and south,Turning a deep chasm into a thoroughfare.”
 
For closer ties with the historical references, Wang Tong intentionally chose settings that bear symbolic or metaphoric relations with those of the original images. Not exactly the same places, but places that make the point. He does comic impressions by portraying how the Chairman dressed, stood, and walked, and mimicking to great detail his expressions, hand gestures, and postures. In this way, Wang Tong puts on his own show based on official history. In other words, Reenactment is a collection of Mao’s old monodramas of travels, hikes, speeches and inspections put onto the postmodern stage. The humorous misplacement in space and time defused the straight-faced majesty of the original images, leaving an entertaining postmodern cosplay show that gives the audience something to laugh and think about. Onthe one hand, Wang Tong appears to be helping Mao witness the realization of his wildest dreams; on the other hand, the artist makes Mao an incompatible intruder to places where everything had to do with him but now nothing has to do with him. From “Mao on the Wall”, to “Forging Cities”, and to “Reenactment”, the artist has moved to intentionally construct settings to make his points, which is the clue to understand the incompatibility in “Reenactment”.
 
In this series, Wang Tong does not pose himself as a straightforward criticizer of political power but as an artist sewing together the economical spectacles and the late political figure. He is just as bewildered as the next person. As far as I’m concerned, I’d rather see his performance as impersonating his childhood hero. Being a political leader was a dream shared by many kids, a dream that later evolved as reason took over and became part of a collective memory of the society. Therefore, in Wang Tong’s work, images that speak for memories eclipse images that speak for values. While works by other artists (like Zhang Dali’s “A Second History”) may reveal cracks in the “historical fact” about political leaders, Wang Tong’s works focus on the miraculous speed of urbanization with the dramatic juxtaposition. He fables the embarrassing and absurd encounter of two myths, a mythical political figure and a mythical economy. He arranged the “Reenactment” to be present at the scene. The urban landscape with grand modern constructions like expressways and bridges in Wang Tong’s photos are the background against which two sets of views collide. The only thing is, there is no cure for anachronism when you jam into the same frame what has to come before and what has to come after.
 
 
Written in Tianjin
February 18, 2016
Translation: Chen Dan
翻译(中-英): 陈丹

• 又重现 —— 王彤摄影展
  • 艺术家:王彤
  • 学术主持:海杰
  • 开幕时间:2016.03.12 / 16:00
  • 开展时间:2016.03.12 - 04.29 / 10:00 - 18:00
  • 展览地点:一个艺术. 上海市莫干山路50号13幢2楼

作品链接

王彤:“重现”是为了在场

文:海杰

      王彤生于1967年,时值文革期间,他的童年是在毛时代度过,那个时代的很多墙上都涂绘有政治领袖的形象,这个童年记忆影响了王彤后来的创作。

      从1990年代起,由记忆促发,王彤开始拍摄那些“墙上的毛”,最终形成自己的作品《墙上的毛》,接近2000年的时候,《墙上的毛》由于各地不断出现的拆迁而被迫中断。进入2000年以后,王彤开始用直接摄影的语言来表现城市化凶猛的作业现场,他的《造城》较于《墙上的毛》,更加直接而短兵相接地面对问题。而之后将记录的语言转换为扮演、摆拍的创作实践,并以“在场者”的形象出现,他的作品《重现》,就是从“墙上的毛”走向现实中的毛,只是这个现实是他的扮演者王彤。

      王彤利用自己与政治领袖在肖像上的某种神似,从而将自己作为一个“演员”放置在创作中,当然他不是无的放矢,他选择了有关政治人物的一些经典性的老照片和油画场景为原典,比如在北戴河、在延安、去安源、在河南农村考察、游长江等著名瞬间。王彤将这些官方摄影师镜头或御用艺术家特定创作完成的政治人物神话书写的场景移植到当下语境里,比如建筑工地、有着白宫幻觉的区政府大楼前、大型剧院前、航空母舰前、江边。一方面,这些地理多出自与面向政治人物的神话书写有关的瞬间,另一方面,也出自于他的诗词,比如橘子洲头,甚至有一些场景也是出自他的诗词,比如由王彤扮演的政治人物站在高处,看着对面的铁路高架桥,很容易让人将其与“一桥飞架南北,天堑变通途”的诗词进行勾连。

      为了与原典建立更多脉络上的联系,他甚至在场景的地理概念上也有意靠近老照片里的场景,当然,这些地理与场景更多是符号上的隐喻,而非文献学的还原与实证。在这些曾经有领袖人物站立的地理位置上,王彤尽量接近领袖人物的着装、神态、手势、起步以及整个站姿,以使得这种“神似”促发一种喜剧效果,就像是真的一样。这是王彤基于官方历史所开展的排演行为,也就是说,他在《重现》里,使用了旧的剧本,历数作为节点性的领袖人物的独角戏,将其引入后现代剧场,令其畅游、徒步、讲话和视察。在观看作品时,这种时间和空间的错位消解了原典场景光芒四射的神话庄严性和仪式感,从而激发了观者在观看时的幽默体验和娱乐效应,王彤制造了一出出后现代话语的政治人物Cosplay现场。这些照片在成为消解神话场景的同时,又成为在以上错位中引发观众思考当下的一组剧照。一方面,王彤似乎是在让这个政治人物实现宏图大略,他笔下那些曾经看似如上天揽月的愿景都变成了现实,另一方面,他的出场,怎么看都像是一场科幻事件,一个诡异又不合时宜的闯入者,煞有介事却又不被察觉地站在任何一个之前与他有关的地方,现在却跟他没有任何关系。基于王彤由《墙上的毛》、《造城》以及《重现》的脉络,来看《重现》里这种“不合时宜”,问题的重心就必须回到作品所有意设定的场景之中。

      在这组作品里,需要考察王彤的身份和立场,他似乎没有陷入到那种一眼就洞穿的权力批判之中,而是进入到一种两难的模糊地带:在经济奇观和政治人物之间,他作为艺术家,只是一个牵线者,他本身也处于惶惑之所。引政治人物出场,我倒愿意相信这是艺术家自己梦想的现实化,比如,在小时候,孩子们都或多或少地扮演过政治领袖。但后来这种梦想演化为一种理性的记忆,而且这记忆是公共记忆,因此,作为记忆的图像或许更为强势地先于作为价值观的图像主导了他的这一创作。尽管我们后来在众多的考察行为中(比如艺术家张大力的《第二历史》)发现了历史美容术之于领袖们暴露的诸多纰漏,但王彤的重点似乎不在于此。他是借用这种戏剧的出场来面对城市化的速度与奇迹。王彤选择的场景,同样是一种神话书写,两种神话(政治神话人物和经济神话景观)在此见面,显得格外尴尬和荒诞。
 
      “重现”也是为了在场,王彤安排的这些场景,大多是现代都市或大型作业奇观(如路桥),两种景观的相遇,也是两种观点的狭路相逢。只是,这样一个本身就具有上下文关系的排演,再怎么相逢,也不能同步。
 
 
写于天津
2016年2月18日