works here

Preface:
All phenomena in the world are pipe dream like dew and lightening. We shall regard everything in this way.
- The Diamond Sutra

Pipe Dream
Essay: Chen Haiyan


Once, Chai Yiming said: “I like seeing the world through goldfish bowl.” I was immediately captured by his word. When I mentioned this at our second meeting, he didn’t remember it, only leaving me confused, watching him through my glasses. This is Chai who always lives in the momentary stream of consciousness. There seems no link between the last second and the next, but people will be surprised or stunned by the casual flow of his stream of consciousness. As for me, looking at( Watching ) Chai’s painting is like facing a completely open Pandora’s Box. Reality and truth suddenly becomes ashes to ashes, conjuring up a surreal world in Chai’s painting. At this moment if we turn at him, he may already indulge in his own world and continue to paint The Classic of Mountains and Seas in his mind. In a sense, we are the people who see the world through a goldfish’s bowl. 

In 2009, Alain Jullien and Luo Yongjin accidentally saw patches of cloths for stitching soles that local people were airing in Peitian Village of Fujian. Those assorted colorful cloths pasted with rice milk attracted them with an unspeakable charm. They thought of using these patches otherwise than just for shoe soles. In the next year, Alain revisited Peitian and brought a batch of cloths to Luo Yongjin. They both expected that someday a talented person can turn the cloths into treasure. In 2013, Alain and Luo saw Chai’s solo exhibition “Discursive Narration” in Zhujiajiao and found that Chai is good at making use of different materials in different environments for his art recreation. They believed that Chai can handle with these “rags”.  When later Luo talked with Chai, he was pleased to accept it as expected. Soon after, we saw the “cloths” being “ravaged” over and over by Chai in his downtown studio. When we revisited him a few months later, the works were fundamentally changed. We discovered on the painting table two new quilted patches by his mother. Apparently he didn’t feel adequate with the pieces we provided. To Chai, painting is a life style and expressive desire. In his words, painting is like God sowing seeds, you take care of the places where seedling grows. If it dies by accident during growth, just wait for its rebirth. Chai only follows instinct. This is the way he always treats things, deliberately and randomly. The dreamy bubble from stream of consciousness is randomly fished out, dragged and aired, then selected, piled up, deleted, corrected and elaborated from Chai’s mysterious and over-frequently turning mind. To him, inspiration is self-generation and self-presentation of consciousness, not caught by external force or deliberately planned. It is the ability to take control when consciousness comes that counts. For example, for the choice of color types that the cloths demands, Chai has tried various kinds of textile dyestuff, ceramic pigment, glass pigment, pigment for Chinese painting, acrylic, oil paint, gouache, ink paint and even luminous pigment and twinkling eye shadow powder. Rice paper, gold foils, magazine pictures, lyrics and texts … the assembly process of material fragments is based on experienced experiment and hidden logic of subconscious. The essence of dreamy narration is a free-styled analysis of the real world. And following the instinct and using it freely is the only result of choice after all social practices, thus, reaching the truth straight from the world of chaos. 

First time in Chai’s studio, I was astonished at odds and ends filled up the big rooms. The substantial and oppressive feeling surrounded by “objects” can only take breath in the blank spaces that carefully arranged by Chai. The imagination gushed out that I might create by writing like Chai. This was the most extreme artist’s studio I’d ever seen. On the desk, more than a dozen of brushes on the pen rack stood by and the bottles and tubes were ready with pigments. I seemed to have entered into a laboratory by mistake where was firmly packed with books, plants, sundries, pigments and tools. I couldn’t help but think of Jean-Baptiste Grenouille, the protagonist of Das Parfüm by German writer Patrick Süskind. The weird genius from the kingdom of odor could easily make any kind of odor masterpiece by his talent and instinct, while he had no body odor himself. The difference is that Grenouille in the novel finally killed 25 girls and extracted their body note to make the perfect perfume, then self annihilated, while Chai is still struggling for Buddhism, self-sufficiency and free expression. Moreover, he can’t be like Grenouille “as tough as a resistant bacterium and as content as a tick sitting quietly on a tree and living off a tiny drop of blood plundered years before”, because Chai loves books, objects and any other possible things. He loves to focus and adjust his sense to feel the world’s past, present and future, and then enlighten himself in the darkness of his own world. 

The most frequent words that Chai uses are “lovely”, “coquettish” and “weird”. Watching his works is just like talking with him that his “Kung-fu” always makes me unable to respond. In my opinion, the theme and meaning of the work is not important to the audience. What’s important is that whether you can see the “lovely”, “coquettish” and “weird” in the painting. Congratulations if you see it, at least you can appreciate the motive and final display of this exhibition; more congratulations if you perceive more than the painting itself as you can read Chai’s unrestrained mystery book. If you are trying to understand the works by reading Chai’s scratched codes and my words of stream of consciousness, it’s obviously an illusion, even a big mistake. 

In front of Chai’s works, everyone wants to be an ideal reader, taking his misreading as the real interpretation and neglecting the existence of the works and the artist. However, the truth is as the Buddhist texts say that the creation is changeable because divinity is both natural and supernatural. After all, it is just a pipe dream like dew and lightening. 

 

Translation: Fan Chen
翻 译:范 晨

• 梦幻泡影 —— 柴一茗绘画作品展
  • 艺术家:柴一茗
  • 学术主持:陈海燕
  • 开幕时间:2014.07.05 / 16:00
  • 开展时间:2014.07.05 - 2014.08.29 / 10:00 - 18:00
  • 展览地点:一个艺术. 上海市莫干山路50号13幢2楼
作品点入
 题记:一切有为法,如梦幻泡影,如露亦如电,应作如是观。
—— 《金刚经》
梦幻泡影
文:陈海燕
 
一次,柴一茗说:“我喜欢隔着金鱼缸看世界。”即刻,我被这样的话俘虏了;再次见面说起时,老柴却全然不记得,只剩茫然的我隔着自己的眼镜玻璃片儿看着他,这就是老柴!永远存在于瞬间的意识流里,上一秒和下一秒之间,貌似没什么必然,却总能通过不经意地流露让人感到惊喜或错愕。所以对于我来说,观看老柴的画,就像是面对一个被彻底打开的潘多拉盒子,现实与真实顷刻间灰飞烟灭,魔幻成老柴超现实的画中世界。此时,若回头再看老柴,可能他早已在一旁青眼高歌,继续描画他头脑里的山海经。从某种意义上说,我们才是隔着金鱼缸看世界的人。
 
2009年,阿兰·朱利安(Alain Jullien)和罗永进在福建培田古镇无意间看到当地人晾晒的纳鞋底布,这些用米浆裱糊在一起的各色碎布头以一种顽艳的异量之美吸引了他俩的目光,觉得除纳千层底之外一定还能做点什么。第二年,阿兰再访培田,买回一批交给罗永进,期盼来日能有高人将它们点石成金。2013年,他俩在朱家角看了老柴的个展——《游离的个体》,发现他是对不同环境和材料加以利用再创造的高手,确信他可以驾驭这堆“破布”,即与老柴沟通,不出所料,他欣然领命。不久,在他位于闹市的工作室,我们见到了这些正被老柴一遍遍“蹂躏”的“画布”。隔数月去,作品已旧貌换新颜,且画案上又新添了两块老柴母亲亲手制作的拼布,原是老柴觉得不够尽心和尽兴,画画之于他就是一种生活方式和表述欲望,用他的话说,作画就像上帝撒种,哪长出了新苗就照顾哪,如果长着长着,不小心死了,就等着它自己再生和重生。老柴作画只顺从本能,这也是他一贯对待事物的方式,既刻意又随意,意识流冒出的梦幻泡泡,一个个被老柴恣意放任着从他神秘莫测、思量过频的脑海里随机打捞、揪出、晾晒,然后遴选、堆砌、删减、涂改和铺陈。对于他来说,灵感就是意识的自我催生和自我呈现,非外力所逮,非蓄意谋划,而力所能逮的,是意识来时,努力把控。譬如,就色彩上的讲求或是布基对颜料提出的要求,老柴尝试了各种纺织染料、陶瓷颜料、玻璃颜料、国画颜料,丙烯、油画、水粉、水墨也齐上阵,甚至选用蓄能的夜光颜料和晶闪的眼影粉末。宣纸、金箔、杂志图片、歌词、文本等素材的碎片拼装过程,是老道的实验经验和潜意识强大的暗逻辑,梦幻叙事的本质是对现实世界的写意析述,而随缘任运,莫不是参悟了一切有为法,于光怪陆离之间“擘水取鱼湖起浪,引杯看剑坐生光。”(苏轼 《送李供备席上和李诗》)
 
第一次去老柴的工作室,惊诧于偌大的几个房间满满皆是码堆的什物,目力所及,除了物,还是物。被“物”所拥怀的实在感和压迫感,在几处被他精心摆弄出的留白空隙里喘出一口粗气,须臾幻生出如泉涌的臆想,貌似我可以像他一样就此用文字来创作了,这是目前我所见过最极致的一个艺术家的个人空间。案头上,近十几支毛笔搁在笔架上待用,瓶瓶罐罐的颜料满满当当,我像是误入了由书籍、花草、杂物、颜料和工具结结实实垒出的一个实验室,脑海里不由自主蹦出德国作家帕特里克•聚斯金德(Patrick Süskind)小说《香水》杜撰的主人公让-马普蒂斯特•格雷诺耶,那个气味王国里的天才怪客凭借自己的天赋和直觉总能轻而易举地调制任意一款气味杰作,而他自身却无任何气味。所不同的是,小说中的格雷诺耶最终谋杀和萃取了25名少女的体香完成了至臻完美的香水,然后自我湮灭,而老柴却仍然在为戒定真香,为自足、为能畅所心言而折腾着。另外,他无法像格雷诺耶那样“像具有抵抗力的细菌那样顽强,像只扁虱那样易于满足,停栖在树上靠着几年前所获得的一小滴血维持生活”,因为老柴恋书、恋物,恋一切可恋之物,喜欢集注和调用自己的触角感知这个世界的过去、现在和未来,然后在自己的洞穴里就着灯下黑的那些影子刮磨粉彩,敷陈铺衍,汰洗烟火。
 
老柴挂在嘴边最多的词是“可爱”、“妖冶”和“怪异”,观看他的作品就像我与其对话的感受一样,他的无影脚和七伤拳,总让我无能应对。我想对于观者来说,作品主题和意义本身并不重要,重要的是你能否看到画作的“可爱”、“妖冶”和“怪异”。如果看到了,恭喜你,至少你能欣赏这次展览整个的缘起动机和最终呈现;如果,你还能感悟到绘画本体表现以外的,那么更要恭喜你,你居然读得懂老柴天马行空的志怪天书。如果你正试图通过文字所谓的精确性和强大性去阅读作品里老柴涂写的符码和我所码出的这篇意识流,藉此理解和解读作品,我只能说这显而易见是一种错觉,甚至是一个不小的错误。

在老柴的作品面前,人人都意欲成为一个理想的读图者,认为自己的误读是真正的解读,悬置作品和创作者的存在,然而事实却如佛经所说,所造之物必定无常。因为神性,就是自然和超自然的东西,如露亦如电,不过是梦幻泡影罢了。