Shi Cao (Manger)
Chen Haiyan

Friends call Cao Yingbin by his nickname ‘Cao er’ (Little Cao), and I always thought they meant ‘Little Manger’ (also pronounced ‘Cao er’ in Chinese). The Chinese character for ‘Manger’ consists of two parts: ‘wood’ and ‘cao’, and it can be paired up with many other characters to mean food tanks for horse (ma cao) and pig (zhu cao), vinasse (jiu cao), tea trough (cha cao) and sandalwood slot on traditional Chinese musical instruments (tan cao). It could also be used to form a slang, ‘tu cao’, meaning ‘to whine about something’ and the word ‘cao dao’, meaning rules (with the literally meaning of slots). To us, ‘Cao er’ (Little Manger) has become synonymous with Cao Yingbin.

Paintings by ‘Cao er’ have an inexplicably sense of wicked fun. I assume he drew all these 30 x 40 cm pictures with a touch of sincerity and disrespect. When I first saw his works, I remember sensing a powerful element of ‘fun’. Watching the audience’s expressions in the gallery, I could always find faces that are both cynical and serious.

The ‘fun’ part is less obvious in the series PAST he created from 2009 to 2011, featuring empty indoor spaces. The works are somewhat thought-provoking with their unique circumstances. Obviously, the places are very personal to ‘Cao er’, as they are where his conducts life. If we join them together, we can almost see vivid scenes of his everyday life. Like a glutton, he swallows every space in his life (office, billiard room, library, foot massage room, bathroom, guestroom, theater, toilet, restaurant, hair salon, temple, apartment, carriage, gallery, studio and classroom), digests it in his tough and powerful stomach, and excretes what’s left. With purposely unsophisticated techniques, those ‘half-digested’ works are arranged on a wall like specimen in a science museum.

‘Cao er’ drags us into his world with his unusual style, simple, direct and reckless. Looking at his paintings is like standing alongside him and peeping into his personal spaces. We obtain a blurred identity that is neither of an onlooker, nor of an insider. Are we looking at Cao’s, others’ or our life? Or are we trying to see the truth of life subconsciously?

Eating, drinking, defecating, urinating and sleeping, making friends, travelling and working: these routines constitute the external truth about life. We see people that are superficial, tasteless, ingratiating, blundering, concealing and extravagant everywhere, while commonness and surprise, beauty and ugliness complement each other.

Some people might be tempted to categorize spaces in the works of ‘Cao er’ into different groups, such as bedrooms, narrow corridors and public gathering spaces and think that they symbolize the shared experience of solitude in this difficult age. But, in fact, these spaces have greater philosophical significance and represent the artist’s perception of life, so they shouldn’t be interpreted in such a superficial way. To quote another expression with the character “cao” (manger), this is like fighting your enemy with “cao mao”, or wood spear, without any sharp spearhead.

If we insist on interpreting the images by the artist with Roland Barthes’s theory of semiotics, we can say these pictures, where space and time is confused, represent physical spaces that imply life within a certain context, while having many other connotations. Even though a sense of heaviness and nostalgia are popular among the public nowadays, I prefer the aesthetic choices and visual expressions by ‘Cao er’. But they don’t tell us his real purpose for artistic creation. ‘Cao er’ doesn’t want to whine about anything. The profound truth that was revealed in his works is as natural as stream of consciousness. Apart from memories and illusions, what could be left after experiencing everything in life? The memory of life sweeps through the scattered spaces like billows of flame. Then we know the best combination among individuals, time and space only happens in the present time.

Although Cao’s life seems disenchanting with no element of grandeur, the truth of life can be found in the little ‘fun’ in his works.  

Translation:  Fan Chen
Thanks to:  Steven Huang
翻 译: 范 晨
感 谢: 黄 一

• 经过——曹应斌绘画作品展
  • 艺术家:曹应斌
  • 学术主持:陈海燕
  • 开幕时间:2012.05.19 / 16:00 - 19:00
  • 开展时间:2012.05.19 - 2012.07.06 / 10:00 - 18:00
  • 展览地点:一个艺术. 上海市莫干山路50号13幢2楼

点入作品链接

食槽
文:陈海燕

曹应斌在他许多亲爱的朋友那里,总是被亲昵着唤作“曹儿”,在我听来直接印象成“槽儿”,这甚是有趣。木字“槽”是柔木,合成马槽、猪槽、酒槽、茶槽、檀槽,得瑟成“吐槽”,皆有吾曹(我辈)槽道(规矩)。 “槽儿”是他独特的个人符号。

看“槽儿”的画,总是会莫名着一种戏谑的“趣”的成分,猜“槽儿”本人也常常在混合着认真的虔诚和跄跄的不恭中画着这些小小30×40的玩意儿。第一次看见“槽儿”的画,这样“趣”的情绪就饱满着,偶尔在画廊展厅留意观察一下其他观者的表情,我总能发现这种混合玩世不恭又极其认真的表情五味杂陈着漾在他人的唇角。

“趣”的情绪在《过去》这组系列较以往的作品稍稍淡了些,2009到2011,是一组缺失了主体的室内空场。场域下的语境有些玩味和况味。显然,这些空间属于“槽儿”本人,线索般串构出了个人的生活场境,如若按图索骥,可以想见出一幕幕真实如常的生活片段,而且是当下的!“槽儿”把他穿行坐卧过的所有空间尽数饕餮,就像一个拱槽者,把食槽范围内的一切一股脑吞下,再经过他那粗糙无比、坚韧异常又无所不能的大胃消化,诸如办公室、桌球室、图书馆、足浴房、澡堂、客房、剧院、厕所、餐馆、发廊、庙堂、居所、车厢、画廊、画室、教室,然后悉数排出。这些消化不良的玩意儿在看似不讲求绘画技巧和艺术表现的刻意稚拙里,像科学标本一样排列组合。

“槽儿”用惯常的一种孩子气般单纯直接而又有些莽撞的方式把我们拽进了他的视界,同他站在一起向室内逼视,悻然着一双欲眼窥视到的仍是一种在旁观者和当事者罅隙间的身份迷失,窥见“槽儿”的生活,他人的生活,还是自己的生活?抑或是下意识里要去窥视生活的本质真实?

吃喝拉撒睡,甚至交友、旅行、工作,这些司空见惯的生活图景是当下生活的表象真实,浅薄、无品、趋同、浮躁、粉饰、枯燥、骄奢的脂粉气四处淫靡,平淡与惊喜、美好与恶心此消彼长。

如若附会,将这些零碎苶弱的组合分类统计,比如“槽儿”钟爱表现形制各异的卧室、转角逼仄的楼道、集体啸聚的公共空间,象征出所谓时代窘境下的个人孤独和生命存在的公共经验,整个系列作品的精神深度或许会被过度扭曲为有意义与无意义的峥嵘,很容易将对生活的勘悟变成一种浅薄的夸饰,槽矛无击!

如若一定要套用罗兰•巴特的符号学进行图像释读,这些时空错构的画面就是能指物态的空场,所指的是场境下的生活,而意指的实在可以有很多。当厚重和乡愁一度成为如今社会心理的审美态势,我倒是更欢喜“槽儿”的美学追求和视觉表达方式,但这显然不能诠释出“槽儿”的真实意图,“槽儿”没有想吐槽,试图流露的玄机,是意识流般的自然,生活所历经的一切,除了一堆记忆幻象以外,还能剩出和胜出些什么呢?!对于生活的记忆焮天烁地般火燎在这些破碎的空间里头,然后得知个体与时间、空间媾合出的最好,仍只是当下罢了。

“槽儿”的祛魅生活,状似没有深宏大义的浩帙鸿篇,然,这些食槽里小小的“趣”,在当下,仍可以见微知著。